Graduates honored, new officers commissioned during ceremonies


TUSKEGEE, Ala. (May 10, 2013) — Several pre-commencement ceremonies were held on campus Thursday and Friday to recognized the achievements of graduating students. Thursday, the Integrative Biosciences Program held its Graduation Reception and White Coat Ceremony in the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center. The graduates are: Eddy Cadet, Shaniece Theodore, and Steven Samuels. Also to recognize finishing their qualifying exams, third-year students were presented with white lab coats. White coat students: Sheritta Cooks-Fagbodun, Chris Bernard, Sherwin Jack, and Steven Samuels. 

Nursing and Allied Health Capping and Pinning Ceremony

Social Work Pinning Ceremony

Education Induction Ceremony
Also Thursday, social work graduates were recognized in a pinning ceremony in the Tuskegee University National Center for Bioethics in Healthcare auditorium. The graduates: Claudarian Brown, Deja Carter and Danielle Mitchell. The School of Education also held its Teacher Induction Ceremony in the Kellogg Hotel. The new teachers: Chasney C. Bowman, Bianca E. Floyd and Meagan A. James. 

Friday, the School of Veterinary Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health held a Capping and Pinning Ceremony in University Chapel for its nursing and occupational therapy students. Nursing pinning: Cara N. Adams, Gloria T. Archie, A’driese G. Bazile, Deirdre D. Bellamy, Krysta L. Belton, Terricka M. Brit, Leana Cameron, Meredith C. Cheatum, Rachel T. Clarke, Nakia A. Edwards, Rayna Gardner, Alexis L. Griffin, Kanessha S. Knight, Lina M. Lyassu, Ismaila Marong, Jordan D. Ray, Courtney R. Sharpe, and Erinn D. Vaughn. Capping: Aeryca S. Boggs, Damarcus J. Brown, Kaela Z. Bryant, Grace Burton, Dymond Callen, Sharmeeka Carter, Chelsea Dawson, Kirsten Ellis, Sharifa T. Fontenelle, Carderius L. Fowler, Tressa F. Geery, Regina C. Gibbs, Courtney L. Green, Mitisha D. Hill, Thandiwe Hlatywayo-Shange, Inman S. Hines, Brittany L. Holmes, Erica O. Holmes, Randall R. Jones, Rhashad J. Jordan, Shameka M. Knight, Stephanie D. Lampley, Jessica Maye, Tanisha McKoy, Destiny Peoples, Famila B. Shabazz, Shekesha Stinson, Ryan Warren and Kyle Fitzgerald Wicker: Allied Health: Camille Clancy, Shenicki Coleman, La Tonya Elsberry, Ashley Feagin, James Field, Charita Givhens, Kevin Haynes, Rodney Hickman, Dionne Joseph, Ashley Joyner, Cleophus Lewis, Alysa Lucas, Caitlin McCaa, Shalente Montgomery, Ester Offoegbu, Jazmine Scott, Gerriod Sharp, Mekale Steveson, Blake Terry, Christopher Williams, and Samara Young.

Also Friday, several new military officers took their oath, during a joint ROTC Commissioning Ceremony in University Chapel. The event also marked the first class of Tuskegee University Naval ROTC midshipmen to become ensigns in the U.S. Navy. The new ensigns are: Vandesscia A. Hamilton and Raymond W. Lanphere. Army ROTC commissioned second lieutenants: Royal J. Banks, Jane’e D. Brooks, Delois L. Carr, Justin James, Tia Rhodes, and Alphonse Turner. Air Force ROTC commissioned second lieutenants: Blendia R. Ball, Gabriel D. Byrd, Desmond J. Gosier, Quinton R. Kennedy, and Chad Mintz. 

Also on Friday, the College of Engineering inducted its graduating seniors into the Order of the Engineer at Luther Foster Hall auditorium. Aerospace Engineering: Corwin M. Angel, Angeline J. Carter, Reginald Davis Jr., Myron J. Fletcher, Jahmere S. Johnson, Shawn P. Patrick Jr., Brandon M. Mitchell, James E. Smith, and Eien Q. Williams. Chemical Engineering: Frank L. Armstead, William Baxter III, Reginald A. Chambliss II, Quintera J. Floyd, Quinekqua R. Garcia, Danny Holmes, Cara S. Johnson, Marques C. Johnson, Karyn E. Moses, Atiya M. Myers, Elijah Pugh, Ashley N. Spooner, Aaron C. Thomas, and Delphia M. Williams. Electrical Engineering: Tavin Clary, Ryan Clayton, Ransom E. Davis Jr., Jonae C. Felton, Samuel Harding IV, Quinton Kennedy, Shatori S. Meadows, David Mohammed, Uwadaie Obahiagbon, Bandon Rose, Stephen Shields, Allen Singleton Jr., Brianna Terry, and Martez Waldon. Mechanical Engineering: Mark Black, Kevin Brown-Hesterbey, Kirk-Solomon Bulter, Faith Carswell, Jarius Cox, Christopher Elmore, Marlon Heggie, Nicholas James, Johnathan Lessa, Elissa Matthews, Derrick Pettaway, Jonathan Rocha, Leslie Smith, Matthew J. Walker, Thomas Wilder, and Shannel Wright. 

Joint ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

Order of the Engineer Ceremony

IBS PhD White Coat Ceremony

© 2013 Tuskegee University

Back to News Listing