Rochon elected chair of Council of 1890 Universities


TUSKEGEE, Ala. (March 11, 2012)  — Tuskegee University President Gilbert L. Rochon has been voted chair of the Council of 1890 Universities for a three-year term beginning Nov. 1 and will also, effective immediately, complete the current term of the incumbent, South Carolina State University President George Cooper, who has resigned. Cooper announced his resignation from South Carolina State earlier this month, effective March 31.

The Council of 1890 Universities is comprised of the presidents of Historically Black Colleges and Universities that are designated land-grant institutions by the second Morrill Act of 1890. In addition to Tuskegee University, these include: Alabama A&M University, Alcorn State University, Delaware State University, Florida A&M University, Fort Valley State University, Kentucky State University, Langston University, Lincoln University, North Carolina A&T State University, Prairie View A&M University, South Carolina State University, Southern University System, Tennessee State University, University of Arkansas Pine Bluff, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Virginia State University, and West Virginia State University.

As part of his responsibilities, Rochon, who is Tuskegee University’s sixth president since its founding in 1881 by Booker T. Washington, will serve as the co-chair of the U.S. Department of Agriculture/1890 Task Force. He will also join the board of directors of the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities. This year, APLU will celebrate the 150th anniversary of the first Morrill Act of 1862, which was signed by President Abraham Lincoln. The action established land-grant universities in every state and territory. The second Morrill Act of 1890 provided funding to designate separate institutions of higher learning for blacks in those states which did not open the doors of their universities to black students.   

Back to News Listing