Tuskegee University commissions new military officers, honors graduates in ceremonies


TUSKEGEE, Ala. (May 12, 2012) — Ten Tuskegee University ROTC cadets were sworn in as second lieutenants in the United States military during a commissioning ceremony held in the Tuskegee University Chapel on Friday, May 11. Lt. Gen. William N. Phillips, principal military deputy to the assistant secretary of the U.S. Army (acquisition logistics and technology) and director of acquisition career management, was the speaker.

The newly commissioned U.S. Army officers are: Dzman A. Colquitt, Thomas J. Grant, Michaela P. Joshua, Decoyeia Moore, Heather J. Murphy, Samuel A. O’Garro, Jr. and Ranisha J. Reese.

Tuskegee University Board of Trustees chairman
Maj. Gen. Charles Williams addresses students
at the social work pinning ceremony.
The newly commissioned U.S. Air Force officers are: William F. Glover, Leticia A Hunt and Joyce L. Jackson. The ceremony was one of five pre-commencement events to recognize graduating seniors on Thursday and Friday.

In addition to the commissioning ceremony, there was also a capping and pinning ceremony for nursing and allied health students in the Tuskegee University Chapel at 1 p.m. on Friday. The speaker was Greshundria Raines, assistant professor and academic fieldwork coordinator at Alabama State University’s College of Health Sciences and acting program director of ASU’s Department of Occupational Therapy.

Clinical laboratory sciences student pinned: Fairyon Ceazer.       

Nursing students pinned: Tigist Aschenaki, Canerica D. Calhoun, Lenisha N.Dickson, Yasmeen D. Greene, Michelle D. Hammon, Heather C. Hardy, Kiara I. Hopton, Shekita D. Johnson, Ontaria J. McElroy, Zuri V. Myres, Jasmine B. Pratt-Minor, Roni L.Tevis and Meagan R. Whitney.

Nursing students capped: Cara Adams, Gloria T. Archie, Majonna T. Barnett, A’driese G. Bazile, Deirdre D. Bellamy, Terricka M. Birt, Meredith C. Cheatum, Nia S. Clark, Rachel T. Clarke, Chelsea M. Dawson, Nakia A. Edwards, Alexis L. Griffin, Erica O. Holmes, Kaneesha S. Knight, Jordan S. Ray, Courtney R. Sharpe, Shekeisha S. Stinson and Erinn D. Vaughn.      

Occupational therapy students pinned: Denise I. Boone, Javis E. DaVaughn, Brittany Easley, Phedra Fields, Byron Fisher, Cheyanne Harrison, Chaketta Hightower, Courtney Holmes, Nigel Hunter, Tiffanie Lewis, Kasarri T. Loper, Lakisha L. Mapp, Cozettya McMillian, Krystal Newkirk, Clinique Outland, DeShawn Shorter, Ashley Vice and Keisha Walker.

Also, the Order of the Engineer ceremony for graduating engineering students was held in the Luther Foster Hall Auditorium. During the ceremony, the graduates took an oath to practice ethical engineering.

The aerospace engineering graduates are: Lauren E. Anderson, Triumphal Bridges, Troy M. Cole, Antionette Evans, Jerald Fayorsey, William Glover and Aljamar Henderson. The chemical engineering students are: Cherelle Crenshaw, Gwynetta Henderson, Marques Johnson, Zachary Phillips, Timothy Purdie, Timothy Simmons, Jalyssa Turner and Kiara Moorer. The electrical engineering students are: Douglas Barnes, Brittanie Brown, Arrington Copeland, Holden Cella, DeAuntae Colvin, D'Mario Franklin, Marcus Fore, Jeremiah Matthew Hay, Matthew Hicks, Jerron Lloyd, Jean Giovanni Maurice, Roderick Milligan, Anthony Peoples, Tonya Pryor, Leslie M. Smith and Kenya Walker. The mechanical engineering students are: Destini Buckner, Britney English, Jesica Holley, Antwan Jefferson, Antoya Kyles, Session Linsey, Jasmine McCloud, Anza Mitchell, Norshawn Ryan, Bradley Sellers, Craig Smith, Whitney Tarver and DeAnna Yarbrough.

On Thursday, there was a pinning ceremony for social work graduates in John A. Kenney Auditorium of the Tuskegee University National Center for Bioethics in Research and Health Care. The speaker was the Rev. Christine Bradshaw. The social work graduates are: Eboni Austin, Jeanine Baxter, Artisha Floyd, Elise Holsey, Brittni Matthews, Tiffany Mayers, Marvin Merriweather, Ambrije Swafford, Ashton Wells and Camille Wiggins.

Also on Thursday, an induction ceremony for School of Education graduates was held in the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center at Tuskegee University. The speaker for the event was Phil Rodney Wilson, the 2010 Alabama Teacher of the Year. Education graduates inducted were: Jasmine M. Allen, Selena J. Burnett, Ebony D. Durden, Tyneshia L. Hillman, Danye’lle L. Hundley, Faradjah M. Lafortune, Kayla J. Lee, Katherine A. Mencer, Shanneka R. Whitehead and Chelsea A. Wright.

On Saturday, immediately following commencement exercises, 69 veterinary medicine graduates were administered their oath to service in the Tuskegee University Chapel. Click here for the list of graduates.   


Newly commissioned officers stand at attention in the University Chapel.

College of Engineering dean Legand Burge addresses students at the Order of the Engineer event.

School of Education students participate in the education induction ceremony. Dean Carlton Morris presides.

© 2012 Tuskegee University

Back to News Listing