Tuskegee University is an independent, nonprofit higher education institution that has a special and unique relationship with the state of Alabama. Established initially in 1881 by the Alabama Legislature as a fully publicly controlled institution, the University became "state-related" in 1892.

The organization of the University is designed to achieve the institution's purposes, which are primarily instruction, research and outreach. These activities are conducted chiefly in behalf of nurturing the intellectual, technical, more and civic development of students.

The Board of Trustees establishes the governance and organization of the University and delegates authority to the President, who is the chief executive officer and spokesperson of the University. The President is assisted in the administration of the University by general and associate general officers.

The major areas of administrative function of the University are support services for instruction and student services, research and outreach, marketing and communications, business management, institutional advancement and human resources management.

Meet the Administration

The President  
Brian L. Johnson, Ph.D. 

Chief of Staff
Edward Brown, Jr. 

Executive Assistant to the President/
Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Verna S. Little

Special Assistant to the President
Jeanette Moss-Smith

Office Manager
Alison Caddell 

Human Resources Director
Shantay Bolton, Ph.D.

Chief Information Officer (CIO)
Jenell Sargent 

Senior Director of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing
Jeremy Alphord 

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Cesar Fermin, Ph.D.

Vice President for Development and Advancement
Robert Blakely

Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer (CFO)
Rick Kisner