Social Work Calendar 2013-2014


August:

  • Friday-August 23, 2013: Last Day to add, change schedules, and make financial arrangements with the Bursar.

  • Friday-August 23, 2013:Last Day for students to remain in all classes who have not been cleared by the Bursar.


September:

  • Monday-September 2, 2013:Labor Day

  • Thursday through Thursday-September

5-12,2013:Register with Deans for English Proficiency Exam.

  • Monday-September 9, 2013:Final Day to apply for spring commencement. All perceptive graduates must meet with Dr. Gayle prior to this date to review your curriculum profile before submitting your files to the Registrar.





October:

  • Wednesday-October 3, 2013: Career Fair

  • Wednesday through Thursday-October 16-17, 2013:Mid-Term Exam

  • Thursday through Friday-October 17-18, 2013: 42nd Annual Alabama/Mississippi Social Work Conference. “Collaborating To Train a New Generation of Social Workers.”

Alcorn State University- Natchez, Mississippi. Students who are attending this conference must pay the required fee by October 20, 2013.


  • Saturday through Monday-October 26-28, 2013:English Proficiency Exam

  • Thursday-October 31, 2013- “Miss Tuskegee” Gala- All Social Work majors are expected to attend the gala  and support “Miss Tuskegee” and “Mr. and Miss” Social Work.


October- November:

  • Thursday through Monday-October 31- November 3, 2013: The Council on Social Work Education Annual planning meeting “Global Social Work”. Dallas, TX- All Seniors enrolled in the SOWK466 course are required to attend as a part of their course requirements i.e. Graduate College Tour. All Students who do not attend this conference will receive an “I” grade, which can only be removed by taking the next Tour.


November- December:


  • Tuesday-November 5, 2013:Admissions Informational(Admission into the professional phase of the Social Work Program)


  • Monday, November 11, 2013: Admissions Packets distributed


  • Wednesday November 20,20123 Admissions Packets are due in Mrs. Fitzpatrick office By 3:30pm


  • Monday, November 25, 2013: Admissions Interviews. All students are to dress professionally. Women are to wear Career Coordinates including dresses or skirts. Stockings,  modest jewelry and proper accessories are expected. NO Pants! Men are to wear  pants(No Jeans or tennis shoes) sport coat and tie. All hairstyles m You will not be interviewed if you are not dressed to the aforementioned specifications.


  • Tuesday through Sunday-November 26- December 1, 2013: Thanksgiving Recess

  • Monday-December 9, 2013: Last Day of Classes for Fall 2013 session.







January:

  • Wednesday-January 8, 2014: Second Semester classes begin.

  • Thursday-Saturday-January 9-11, 2014: Register with the Deans for the English Proficiency Exam.

  • Friday-January 10, 2014: Last Day for Unregistered Students to attend class.

  • Friday-January 10, 2014-:Last Day to make schedule changes and make arrangements with Bursar.

  • Sunday-Sunday-January 19-26, 2014: Faith Week

  • Monday-January 20, 2014: Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday




February: “Black History Month”

  • Tuesday-Sunday-February 4-16, 2014:Financial Aid Awareness Week


March: “National Social Work Month”

  • Thursday- Friday-March 6-7, 2014: Mid-Term Exams

  • Saturday Sunday-March 8-16, 2014:Spring Break

  • Wednesday-Sunday-March 19-23, 2014:BPD Conference “The Changing World and the Pace of Social Work Education” Louisville, KY. All Seniors enrolled in the SOWK466 course are required to attend as a part of their course requirements i.e. Graduate College Tour.


All Students who not attend this conference will receive an “I” grade that can only be removed by taking the next Tour.


  • Sunday through Friday-March 23-28, 2014: Tuskegee Official Observance of Social Work Month (Week)

  • Saturday through Monday-March 22-24, 2014:English Proficiency Examination.





April:



  • Friday-April 11, 2014: Last Day to withdraw.

  • Saturday-April 12, 2014:Applications Due for Candidates for spring commencement rally.

  • Sunday-April 13, 2014:President Essay Contest and Award Night.

  • April 14- June 2, 2014:Preregistration for first semester 2014 and summer session 2014.

  • Thursday-Monday-April 17-21, 2014: Easter Break

  • Wednesday-Monday-April 23-28, 2014: Graduating Senior Exam period.

  • Saturday-April 26, 2014: University Festival/ All Events Day.

  • Monday-April 28, 2014- Last Day of Class: Second Semester Ends.

May:

  • Thursday through Tuesday-May 1-6, 2014:Final Examinations.

  • Thursday-May 8, 2014:Social Work Pinning Ceremony.

  • Friday-May 9, 2014: Baccalaureate

  • Saturday-May 10, 2014: Commencement







Summer School Session


  • Online Registration-Summer Registration April14-    

    June2



  • Friday-May 30, 2014: Late Fees assessed


June:


  • Monday-June 2, 2014: Academic Advisement and Late On-Line Registration.

  • Tuesday-June 3, 2014:Summer Classes begin

  • Wednesday-Monday- June 4-9, 2014:Register with Deans for the English Proficiency Examination

  • Friday-June 6, 2014: Last Day to make changes to schedules and make financial arrangements with Bursar.  


July:


  • Tuesday-July 1,2014:Last Day for dropping Classes

  • Friday-July 4,2014: Independence day

  • Friday-July 11,2013:Last Day to withdraw

  • Tuesday-Wednesday-July15-16:Graduating Seniors Final Exam

  • Tuesday-July 29,2014:Summer Session Ends

  • Wednesday-Thursday-July 30-31:Final Exams

  • Friday-August 1, 2014 :Commencement