Mission and Purpose

Tuskegee University is a comprehensive, state-related, land grant institution with a threefold mission: instruction, research, and service. Special elements of the University’s mission are:


  • We focus on education as a continuing process and lifelong endeavor for all people.
  • We provide a high quality core experience in the liberal arts.
  •  We develop superior technical, scientific, and professional education with a career orientation.
  • We stress the relationship between education and employment, between what students learn and the changing needs of a global workforce.


  • We preserve, refine, and develop further the bodies of knowledge already discovered.
  • We discover new knowledge for the continued growth of individuals and society and for the enrichment of the University’s instructional and service programs.
  • We develop applications of knowledge to help resolve problems of modern society.


  • We serve the global society as well as the regional and campus community and beyond through the development of outreach programs that are compatible with the University’s educational mission, that improve understanding of community problems, and help develop relevant alternative solutions.
  • We engage in outreach activities to assist in the development of communities as learning societies.

Global, regional, and campus communities are served through outreach programs compatible with the University’s mission of developing "learning societies" which seek solutions to societal problems.

The academic programs are organized into five colleges and three schools: (1) the College of Agriculture, Environment and Nutrition Sciences; (2) the College of Arts and Sciences; (3) the Andrew F. Brimmer College of Business and Information Science; (4) the College of Engineering; (5) the College of Veterinary Medicine; (6) the Robert R. Taylor School of Architecture and Construction Science; (7) the School of Education; and (8) the School of Nursing and Allied Health. The curricula for these colleges and schools currently offer over 50 degrees including 39 Bachelor's, 13 Master's, 2 Doctor's of Philosophy: one in Materials Science and Engineering, and one in Integrative BioSciences, and the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine.

Tuskegee enrolls more than 3,000 students and employs approximately 900 faculty and support personnel. Physical facilities include more than 5,000 acres of forestry and a campus on which sits more than 100 major buildings and structures

Graduate instruction leading to the Master's degree and Doctor of Philosophy Degree is offered in some of the colleges and schools.

Goals and Objectives of the Division of Education
The primary mission of the Division of Education is consistent with that of Tuskegee University, which is to "develop liberally educated, well-rounded individuals who are knowledgeable in their fields of specialization, proficient in the application of professional skills, and capable of identifying and adjusting to future professional requirements."