IBS Program Faculty & Leadership

<< Back to the IBS homepage


1. Dr. Deloris Alexander, Cancer Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Environ. Science 

2. Dr. Ramble Ankumah, Environmental Science, Microbiology, Soil Science

3. Dr. Adelia Bovell-Benjamin, Food Science, Nutrition

4. Dr. Olga Bolden-Tiller, Animal Science, Reproduction

5. Dr. Conrad Bonsi, Plant Pathology

6. Dr. Chastity Bradford, Cardiovascular Disease

7. Dr. Michael Curry-Chemistry/Material Sciences

8. Dr. Norma Dawkins, Food and Nutritional Sciences

9. Dr. John Davidson, Microbiology

10. Dr. Marceline Egnin, Plant Genomics, Biotechnology, Plant Science

11. Dr. Cesar Fermin, Microscopy

12. Dr. Ebony Gilbreath, Reproductive Physiology

13. Dr. Hari Goyal, Biomedical Sciences

14. Dr. Thomas Graham, Pathobiology

15. Dr. Hadiyah Nicole Green, Nanotechnology, Engineering, Biomedical Sciences

16. Dr. Gerald Griffin, Neurovirology

17. Dr. Nar Gurung, Animal Sciences

18. Dr. Tsegaye Habtemariam, Epidemiology & Biomedical Informatics

19. Dr. Guohao He, Plant Biotechnology

20. Dr. Walter A. Hill, Agronomy, Food systems, Environmental Science

21. Dr. Jacqueline Jackson, Plant Genomics, Molecular Biology

22. Dr. Jesse Jaynes, Protein Biochemistry

23. Dr. Kokoasse Kpomblekou-A, Environmental Science, Soil Science

24. Dr. Marcia Martinez, Immunology, Molecular Biology

25. Dr. Desmond Mortley, Plant Science, Environmental Science, Horticulture

26. Dr. Toufic Nashar-Biomedical Sciences

27. Dr. Chuck Okere-Animal Sciences

28. Dr. Ralphenia Pace, Nutrition, Food Science

29. Dr. Gopal Reddy, Immunology, Microbiology

30. Dr. C.S. Prakash, Plant Biotechnology

31. Dr. Albert Russell, Chemistry

32. Dr. Temesgen Samuel, Cancer Biology, Signal Transduction

33. Dr. Ayman Sayegh, Veterinary Anatomy, Gastroenterology

34. Dr. Sreenivas Srivastava, Lab Animal Medicine, Bacteriology

35. Dr. Berhanu Tameru, Mathematical Epidemiology & Bioinformatics

36. Dr. Amit Tiwari-Biomedical Sciences

37. Dr. Roberta Troy, Cancer Biology

38. Dr. Tim Turner, Cancer Biology

39. Dr. Barrett Vaughan, Food Systems, Environmental/Agricultural Engineering

40. Dr. Luther Williams, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Biochemistry

41. Dr. Gemechu Wirtu, Animal Reproduction

42. Dr. William Witola, Parasitology, Animal Sciences

43. Dr. Abdela Woubit, Bacteriology, Nucleic Acids 

44. Dr. Clayton Yates, Cancer Biology

45. Dr. Teshome Yehualaeshet, Molecular Biology, Food Microbiology

46. Dr. Robert Zabawa, Anthropology and Rural Development

Program Leadership

IBS Deans Council:

Lisa Hill, PhD., Dean College of Arts and Sciences

Walter A. Hill, Ph.D., Dean College of Agricultural, Environmental and Natural Sciences

Ruby Perry, DVM, Ph.D., Dean College of Veterinary Medicine, Nursing & Allied Health

A. Deloris Alexander, Ph.D.
Director, IBS Ph.D. Program
110 Campbell Hall
Tuskegee University
Tuskegee, AL 36088
Office: 334-552-0690
Email: dalexander@mytu.tuskegee.edu

Mentoring And Advisory Committees
Students admitted to the IBS Ph.D. program will be assigned provisional advisors who will be responsible for initial guidance.  By the end of the first academic year, students are required to have identified two co-advisors and formed a Student Advisory Committee, which will be responsible for facilitating the development of the academic coursework plan and the research design.  The co-advisors must be from two different disciplines, both of which must be integral to the proposed dissertation research.  The Student Advisory Committee will consist of a minimum of four faculty members, at least two of whom must be knowledgeable in the student's area of research; one must be from outside the student's research area and at least three must be members of the IBS Ph.D. program faculty.  A key feature of the IBS Ph.D. program is the co-advisor concept.  These co-advisors will expose students to different perspectives and encourage and facilitate design and completion of a research dissertation that addresses a problem from at least two different but complementary perspectives.