Professor wins international research poster competition


TUSKEGEE, Ala. (November 15, 2013) — P.C. Sharma, professor and head of the university’s Physics Department, brought home the honor of "Best Research Poster Paper" in the "International Conference on Lasers, Optics and Photonics." He was awarded this honor at the International Conference and Exhibition on Lasers, Optics & Photonics hosted by OMICS group. The event was held Oct. 7-9 at the Hilton San Antonio Airport Hotel in San Antonio.

This award is in recognition of research paper quality, novelty and significance. His competitors were from countries such as China, Egypt, Ethiopia, Korea, Russia, and Taiwan. 

Sharma said he gratefully dedicates the award to students and faculty members of the department who had critically reviewed the work. He also acknowledged the leadership of fellow professors, Akshaya Kumar and Sesha S. Srinivasan, and physics students working in area of laser physics, without whom this would not have been possible to achieve. 

Sharma has funded research projects such as the National Science Foundation EAGER Award, the American Physical Society Research Award, and the Academy of Science Research. He also is the winner of several accolades awards, including the Gardner Award for Excellence in Research. He is also a fellow of several research and academic societies. He was also the first recipient of the R. W. Brown Distinguished Scientist Award, and also the winner of Tuskegee’s University's highest faculty achievement award.

Dr. M. Singh and Dr. P. Sharma stands in front of winning poster.

Sharma with judges of Poster Research Paper at International Conference on Photonics in San Antonio.

© 2013 Tuskegee University

Back to News Listing