Rochon chosen as chair-elect of council of 1890 Universities



SAN FRANCISCO (November 29, 2011) — Tuskegee University President Gilbert L. Rochon accepted the nomination to serve as chair-elect of the council of 1890 Universities at its annual meeting on Nov. 15.

According to its website, the 1890 universities, including Tuskegee University, are historically black land-grant institutions and are located in 18 states, the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The list includes:

  • Alabama A&M University

  • Alcorn State University

  • Delaware State University

  • Florida A&M University

  • Fort Valley State University

  • Kentucky State University

  • Langston University

  • Lincoln University

  • North Carolina A&T State University

  • Prairie View A&M University

  • South Carolina State University

  • Southern University System

  • Tennessee State University

  • Tuskegee University

  • University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff

  • University of the District of Columbia

  • University of Maryland Eastern Shore

  • University of Virgin Islands

  • Virginia State University

  • West Virginia State University



Back to News Listing