Tuskegee students win physics research award


TUSKEGEE, Ala. (March 4, 2013) – Four students from the Tuskegee University Society for Physics Students have been given a $2,000 award for their research proposal to the American Institute of Physics. Entitled, “Design and Development of Novel Nano-composite Materials and Reactor Systems for Photo-catalysis,” the work has been selected as a 2012-2013 Undergraduate Research Award winner. This year the institute’s awards committee funded five outstanding proposals.

The proposal was written by Jeremiah F. Wilson, Sammie Ely III, Bria M. Moore and Lamont Henderson, under the supervision of P.C. Sharma, head of the Physics Department and the student group’s adviser. The proposed undergraduate research, education and other activities will be mentored by Sharma and physics faculty, Sesha Srinivasan and Akshaya Kumar.

© 2013 Tuskegee University

Back to News Listing