About the Staff Senate


The purpose of the Staff Senate is to serve as the legislative body to develop and recommend policies to the University staff not covered by labor union contracts. During intervals between meetings of the staff as a whole, it shall jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to staff affairs and policies of the University that fall within the province of the staff. It has a major role in formulation of legislation that falls within the following areas:
  1. Adjudicating staff matters
  2. Developing and recommending policies governing appointments, status and promoting of staff, working conditions, and fringe benefits
  3. Reviewing periodically the effectiveness of the total staff personnel program

To assist in the communication of issues and activities affecting staff members; actively promotes and facilitates staff participation in the University community.

Meeting Time:  The Staff Senate meets on the third Thursday of every month in the Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center meeting room  from 3:00 - 4:00 pm.