National Pan-Hellenic Council

Black college fraternities and sororities emerged in the early 1900s. Born from these organizations was the National Pan-Hellenic Council. Organized in 1930 at Howard University in Washington, D.C., and incorporated in 1937, the National Pan-Hellenic Council, consists of eight (four sororities and four fraternities) national Greek-letter sororities and fraternities. The Council at Tuskegee consists of six active organizations. The Council's purpose is: "Unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek-letter collegiate of mutual interest to its member organizations."

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Founded in 1908 at Howard University in Washington, D.C. by nine young women, Alpha Kappa Alpha is the nation's first Greek-letter organization established by Black college women. The chartered chapter at Tuskegee is Gamma Kappa. Alpha Kappa Alpha's purpose is: "To cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards; promote unity and friendship among college women; alleviate problems concerning girls and women; maintain a progressive interest in college life; and serve all mankind." 

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C., March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta was incorporated in 1930.

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

Founded in 1914 at Howard University in Washington D.C., by three young men, Phi Beta Sigma helped established Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Phi Beta Sigma and Zeta Phi Beta are the only Pan-Hellenic Greek-letter organizations that are constitutionally bound. The chartered chapter at Tuskegee is Beta Kappa. Phi Beta Sigma's purpose is to: "Exemplify the ideals of brotherhood, scholarship, and service." 

Sigma Gamma Rho 

Founded in 1922 at Butler University in Indianapolis, Ind. , by seven young teachers, Sigma Gamma Rho has become an international service organization. The chartered chapter at Tuskegee is Epsilon Theta. Sigma Gamma Rho's purpose is to: "Promote and encourage high scholastic attainment."

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Founded in 1920 at Howard University in Washington D.C., by five young women, Zeta Phi Beta shares a unique constitutional bond with its brotherhood, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. Zeta Phi Beta was the first Greek-letter organization to charter a chapter in Africa (1948). There is a chartered chapter at Tuskegee. Zeta Phi Beta's principles are: "Scholarship, service, sisterhood and finer womanhood."