Close this Alert

Close this Alert
ShareThis Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

Alabama governor appoints Perry to Environmental Management Commission

November 27, 2018

Contact: Anissa L. Riley, Director, Office of External Affairs, College of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Ruby Perry

Dr. Ruby L. Perry, dean of Tuskegee University’s College of Veterinary Medicine and its vice provost for undergraduate education, has been appointed by Gov. Kay Ivey to the Alabama Environmental Management Commission. She began her service at the commission’s Oct. 19 meeting as she awaits official confirmation by the Alabama Senate in its next legislative session.

Perry will serve in the in the board’s chemist/veterinarian position. A professor of veterinary medicine for more than 30 years, she was appointed the college’s dean in 2015 after serving in an interim capacity for a year, and before that as its associate dean for academic affairs. Her service to the university since joining its faculty in 2007 also has included interim chief of staff; assistant professor of veterinary radiology; and acting chair of the Department of Small Animal Medicine, Surgery and Radiology. She previously was the veterinary radiology section chief and an associate professor at the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine.

A Tuskegee University graduate, she completed her doctor in veterinary medicine degree in 1977 after earning a master’s degree in microbiology from Michigan State University. She also is board certified in veterinary radiology.

The seven-member Environmental Management Commission, whose members are appointed to six-year terms by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Alabama Senate, is charged with developing the state’s environmental policy; hearing administrative appeals of permits, administrative orders and variances issued by the department; adopting environmental regulations; and selecting a director of the Alabama Department of Environmental Management. Its composition, defined in Alabama state law, includes an attorney, a physician, a wildlife biologist, a chemist/veterinarian, a certified well-driller or geologist, and a member at large.

For more information, visit

© 2018, Tuskegee University