Close this Alert

Close this Alert
ShareThis Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

Annual awards honor excellence among faculty, staff

April 23, 2018

Contact:  Michael Tullier, APR, Office of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing   

Presentation of Staff of the Year award
Presentation of Staff Employee of the Year Award. Standing L-R are
Vanessa Lee, Staff Senate Chair, Denise Fitzpatrick, Award Recipient;
Interim President Dr. Charlotte Morris; and Carleen Thompson, VP of
Human Resources and Administration. 

Tuskegee University honored its own on Friday, April 20 during its 67th Annual Recognition Exercises. The event recognizes exceptional service and commitment to the university during the academic year by staff and faculty. The awards program is co-hosted by the Office of Human Resources, the Office of the President, the Staff Senate and the Faculty Senate.

This year’s recipient of the university’s overall Staff Employee of the Year Award is Denise Fitzpatrick, who serves as secretary in the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Social Work. Honorees of category-specific awards — all of which were nominated by their peers — are:

  • Administrative/Clerical: Deloris F. Harkless, College of Business & Information Science
  • Professional (non-faculty): Felicia D. Jenkins, project manager, Department of Materials Science & Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Research (non-faculty): Deborah E. Spencer-Thornton, grants specialist, Office of Sponsored Programs & Grants Management

Other service-based awards were presented at the ceremony, and included:

  • Barbara A. Howard Legacy of Service Award: Tiombe Jones, instructor, College of Business & Information Science
  • Library Services Award: Rose Frazier, librarian, Archives & Museum, Department of Library Services

The university’s overall Faculty Achievement Award recipient is Dr. Li Jiang, professor and associate head of the Department of Electrical Engineering in the College of Engineering. The leadership of each college and school identifies the recipients of its Faculty Performance Awards in the areas of teaching, research and service. Honorees included:

Faculty of the Year award presentation
Presentation of Faculty of the Year Award. Standing L-R are Dr.
Fan Wu, Faculty Senate Vice Chair; Dr. Li Jiang, Award Recipient;
Interim President Dr. Charlotte Morris; and Dr. Tamara Floyd-Smith,
Associate Provost.

College of Agriculture, Environment & Nutrition Sciences

  • Teaching: Dr. Adelia Bovell-Benjamin, research professor, Nutrition & Food Sciences
  • Research: Dr. Raymon Shange, assistant professor, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
  • Service: Dr. Conrad Bonsi, associate professor, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences; and Experiment Station director

Taylor School of Architecture & Construction Science

  • Teaching: Kwesi Daniels, Assoc. AIA, NOMA, assistant professor and head, Architecture
  • Research: Dr. Joel Wao, assistant professor, Construction Science
  • Service: Kimberly Bivins, M.Eng, assistant professor, Construction Science

College of Arts & Sciences

  • Teaching: E. Bruce Phillips, assistant professor, Fine & Performing Arts
  • Research: Dr. Balasubramanyam Karanam, assistant professor, Biology
  • Service: Dr. Sheena Harris, assistant professor, History & Political Science

Brimmer College of Business & Information Science

  • Teaching: George Edwards, instructor, Accounting, Economics & Finance
  • Research: Dr. Fan Wu, professor, Computer Science
  • Service: Rose Lanier, instructor, Management

School of Education

  • Teaching: Dr. Emma Haley, assistant professor and interim department head, Elementary & Secondary Education
  • Research: Dr. Virda K. Lester, professor, Elementary & Secondary Education
  • Service: Dr. Henry J. Findlay, professor, Elementary & Secondary Education

College of Engineering

  • Teaching: Dr. Sharif M. Bhuiyan, assistant professor, Electrical Engineering
  • Research: Dr. Shaik Zainuddin, assistant professor, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Service: Dr. Sharanabasaweshwara Asundi, assistant professor, Aerospace Engineering

School of Nursing & Allied Health

  • Teaching: Kristin D. Ashley, instructor, Nursing
  • Research: Dr. Jannett Lewis-Clark, assistant professor and head, Allied Health
  • Service: Marilyn Davis, assistant professor, Allied Health

College of Veterinary Medicine

  • Teaching: Dr. Amged Dafalla, assistant professor, Biomedical Sciences
  • Research: Dr. Leanda Livesey, DACVIM, associate professor, Clinical Sciences
  • Service: Dr. Gopal Reddy, professor, Pathobiology

During the event, other employees reaching special milestones were honored as well, including those who have completed 25 years of university service, and those who have or will soon retire during the academic year.

25-year Service Awards:

  • Dr. Elaine M. Bromfield, registrar and research assistant professor, Office of the Provost
  • Joe N. Brown, director of student life, Student Life & Development; Office of Student Affairs &  Enrollment Management
  • Cecil W. Davis, front desk manager/alumni liaison, Admissions; Office of Student Affairs & Enrollment Management
  • Dr. Marceline Egnin, research professor, Agricultural Science; College of Agriculture, Environment & Nutrition Sciences
  • Joyce A. Ellington, accounting clerk, Clinical Science; College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Dr. Guohao He, research associate professor, Agricultural Science; College of Agriculture, Environment and Nutrition Sciences
  • Donna L. Washington, faculty records specialist, Office of the Provost

Retirement Awards

  • Dr. Muhammad Ali, associate professor, Computer Science; College of Business & Information Science
  • Dr. Cesar D. Fermin, professor, Biology; College of Arts & Sciences
  • Dr. Lynette K. Gayle, associate professor, Allied Health; School of Nursing & Allied Health
  • Marilyn Hooks, administrative assistant, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences; College of Agriculture, Environment & Nutrition Sciences
  • Rose P. Lanier, instructor, Management; College of Business & Information Science


  • Walter Montgomery, assistant professor, Accounting, Economics & Finance; College of Business & Information Science
  • Dr. Dave Sree, professor, Mechanical Engineering; College of Engineering
  • Dr. Kunwar Srivastava (deceased), professor, Pathobiology; College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Elma Williams, medical technician/histology assistant, Pathobiology; College of Veterinary Medicine

For more photos from the event, visit our online photo album.

© 2018, Tuskegee University