Close this Alert

Close this Alert
ShareThis Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

College of Veterinary Medicine to host May 1 virtual graduation, oath and awards ceremony

April 30, 2020

Anissa Riley, College of Veterinary Medicine
Brittney Dabney, Office of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing


Tuskegee University’s College of Veterinary Medicine will recognize its Class of 2020 graduates during a virtual graduation, oath and awards ceremony on Friday, May 1 at 1 p.m. The ceremony will recognize the college’s 56 Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) degree candidates with the administration of the Veterinarian’s Oath followed by their Awards Ceremony. 

Dr. Ruby L. Perry, dean of the veterinary medicine college, will preside over the program. Dr. Roslyn Casimir, associate dean for academic and student affairs, and Dr. Gopal Reddy, associate dean for research and advanced studies, will assist during the virtual ceremony.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on YouTube at  

“One of the greatest honors I have as dean of the college is to preside over our graduation ceremony,” Perry said. “I’m sure that as family, friends, alumni, the university community and other supporters look on from their personal destinations via the university’s YouTube link, we will all celebrate the major accomplishments of the Class of 2020 as they realize their career goal of becoming a veterinarian, and not let the coronavirus crisis keep us from celebrating their big day.”

The virtual ceremony will have many of the elements of a traditional graduation and will feature presentations of the class challenge and class reflections/vision for the future, as well as the administration of the Veterinarian’s Oath. At the end of the graduation, a special veterinary awards ceremony will be presented to the Class of 2020, over which Casimir will preside.

Perry’s closing message to the Class of 2020 graduates in her letter states, “The Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine (TUCVM) family, now the home of your alma mater, salutes you on your successful journey through the professional program to achieve the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) degree, which is the culmination of your achievement. Although the COVID-19 pandemic required your class to complete your journey here differently than previous classes, the Class of 2020 – you are commended for the resilience and finishing STRONG!”

The college’s Class of 2020 represents its 71st class to receive DVM degrees from Tuskegee University. With this graduation, the College of Veterinary Medicine has awarded 2,850 veterinary medicine degrees.

The Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine, accredited by the American Veterinary Medicine Association Council on Education, has educated more than 70 percent of the nation’s African-American veterinarians. It has also been recognized as the most diverse of all 30 schools/colleges of veterinary medicine in the U.S. For more information about the college, visit

Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine Class of 2020

Drew J Agnew, Na’Imah N. Anderson, Jami A. Baraka, Gavin L Beard, Kaya S. Bryant, Cameron Q. Buck, Alexandria D. Bufford, Brandon M. Butler, Gabrielle A. Carson, Airene F. Caver, James L. Charlot, Maria E. Colon, Morgan Cornelius, Geishly A. Cruz Matos, Amanda K. Cvengros, Shahkila N. Daniels, Sheridan B. Dillon-Robinson, Randolph Green, Jonathan M. Gunn, Channing C. Hatchett, Travares L. Heath, Christina M. Kaye, Krystal P. Lebron Ortiz, Annie Lin, Victor Lopez, Lynh M. Ly, Jasmine N. Lyons, Tracy H. Mandrona, Laurie M. Mangeli, Angelica L Martin, Keila M. Martinez Medina, Danielle N. McCullough, Carsen T. McDonald, Adalis Montero, Tina S. Montgomery, Lizbeth M. Morilla, Imani N. Nicolis, Aubrey R. Norman, Pedro J. Olivencia, Luis A. Pizarro Viera, Lorena Sandoval, Anthony O. Sena, Crystal A. Serrano, Danielle Silvia, Chantel P. Simmons, Dianna V. Smith, Imani C. Smith,  Kimberly S. Snook, Bradley C. Stinson, Ariel R. Truitt, Christina R. VanTassel, Alexandra M. Varela-Ortiz, Jamie M. Wall, Damali D. Zakers, Juliana  Zamora, and Jose P. Zayas.

© 2020, Tuskegee University