ShareThis Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

Gregory S. Nixon to Receive Inaugural Booker T. Washington Award in Philanthropy at Embracing the Legacy Gala

February 13, 2024

Contact: Thonnia Lee, Office of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing

Gregory Nixon

Tuskegee, Alabama — Tuskegee University announces alumnus Gregory Nixon as the recipient of the inaugural Booker T. Washington Award in Philanthropy. Set for March 15, 2024, at the Georgia Aquarium in Atlanta, the Embracing the Legacy gala celebrates Booker T. Washington's enduring legacy.

"Trustee Gregory Nixon embodies philanthropy and dedication to education,” said Tuskegee President Charlotte P. Morris. “We are honored to present him with the Booker T. Washington Award in Philanthropy at this year's Embracing the Legacy gala."

Gregory Nixon, Head of Strategic Investments and Senior Managing Director at Cerberus Capital Management, boasts a distinguished career in management, technology, security, law, and defense. Over a decade at Cerberus, he has served on numerous corporate boards, including as board chairman at Navistar Defense and board director at Red River, Stratolaunch, BlueLinx, and Revolution Space.

Before rejoining Cerberus, Nixon held senior executive roles at DynCorp International, CH2M Incorporated, Booz Allen Hamilton, and McKinsey and Company. A retired Air Force Intelligence Officer and Judge Advocate General (Lt. Colonel), Nixon holds a law degree from Georgetown University Law Center and a B.S. in mechanical engineering from Tuskegee University.

Beyond his professional achievements, Nixon actively engages in philanthropy, securing funding for scholarships at historically black colleges and universities. He serves as a Tuskegee Trustee and on the board of Business Executives in National Security. He previously served on the boards of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund and the National Inventors Hall of Fame, was a Trustee of Fisk University, and was an adjunct law professor at Howard University. Nixon is also a member of the Economic Club of Washington and the Executive Leadership Council.


© 2024 Tuskegee University