Close this Alert

Close this Alert
ShareThis Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

McNair appointed to re-established USDA-1890 Task Force

May 26, 2020

Contact: Michael Tullier, APR, Office of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing

Dr. Lily McNair

Tuskegee University President Lily D. McNair has been appointed along with several other historically black university presidents to the USDA-1890 Task Force. The task force explores cooperative frameworks, partnership opportunities and priority areas.

McNair joins Southern University and A&M College President Ray Belton, Kentucky State University President M. Christopher Brown II, Alcorn State University President Felecia M. Nave, and Langston University President Kent Smith on the task force.

The task force was reestablished along with the USDA-1994 Leadership Group and the USDA-Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU) Leadership Group to serve as principal working groups for the USDA secretary to explore mutually beneficial, short- and long-term goals.

The USDA/1890 Task Force is a component of the USDA’s 1890 Land-Grant Colleges and Universities National Program, or USDA/1890 Program. The task force is a joint council of USDA and 1890 Land-Grant University senior officials (e.g., under secretaries, agency administrators, and university presidents) that provides leadership to advance the mutual interests of USDA and the 1890 Land-Grant Universities. The 1890 Land-Grant Universities — which include 18 Land-Grant Institutions and Tuskegee University established under the second Morrill Act of 1890 — are invaluable sources of diverse professionals who work in agriculture and related disciplines.

© 2020, Tuskegee University