ShareThis Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

Tuskegee University Celebrates Dr. David K. Wilson ‘77

September 29, 2023

Contact: Thonnia Lee, Office of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing

Dr. David K. Wilson in regalia
Dr. David K. Wilson (Photo courtesy
Morgan State University)

Tuskegee University joins the nation in celebrating Dr. David K. Wilson ’77, president of Morgan State University, for being one of the 2023 winners of the Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education. He is the first president of an HBCU to be recognized this way.

“I am always so proud of the work of our distinguished alumni,” said President Charlotte P. Morris. “It is more than appropriate that Dr. Wilson’s groundbreaking work in education is recognized in this way. He continues to serve as an example to us all who are dedicated to elevating HBCUs and education in general.”

Dr. Wilson was celebrated for his work at Morgan, including the historic advancement in retention and graduation rates and the engagement of adult learners. He was also recognized for his national advocacy for HBCUs and support of degree attainment for Black students.

“It is an extreme honor to be recognized by the McGraw Family Foundation and the esteemed panel of judges for the consequential work we have devoted ourselves to at Morgan. Without the dedicated team that we have in place and the commitment they have for our shared educational goals, this would not be possible, so I humbly accept this award on their behalf and on behalf of the students we serve,” said Dr. Wilson. “Morgan is undergoing an immense period of transformation and growth, and the important work that we’re engaged in has benefited from both. And while I am very appreciative of this acknowledgment for what we have accomplished thus far, there is still more work to be done for our students.”

Each winner will be acknowledged during a special ceremony in New York City on Nov. 8, receive an iconic sculpture in honor of their achievement and an award of $50,000. Dr. Wilson will donate his cash award to Morgan State University in the service of students in need.


© 2023 Tuskegee University