ShareThis Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

Tuskegee University launches presidential search

October 18, 2017

Contact:    Michael Tullier, APR, Senior Director
Office of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing

Tuskegee University’s Board of Trustees has officially launched the university’s search for its eighth president by creating a 15-member search committee representing internal and external stakeholders. The committee, under the leadership of Board of Trustees Chair John E. Page, is charged with recommending a candidate who will serve as the university’s next president.

“One of the most important responsibilities of the Board of Trustees is to appoint and support the president of this historic university,” Page said. “The Board is committed to finding the very best person to build on the distinguished legacies of Tuskegee University’s previous presidents, beginning with our iconic founding principal, Booker T. Washington. We seek an inspiring leader who will advance the university’s current five-year strategic plan while preparing us to be a commanding, competitive and contemporary university in the decades to come.”

Committee members represent a diverse collection of local, regional and national expertise in business and academia — and institutional knowledge and history dating back five decades. In addition to Page, the committee is comprised of nine trustees; a member of the university’s Board of Advisors; leaders of the Student Government Association, Tuskegee University National Alumni Association, Presidential Eminent Associates and university Staff Senate; and a faculty representative. The search committee’s composition also includes five university alumni — a third of the committee.

“The search committee members represent a broad spectrum of our university community and have the experience and knowledge to help inform the board in its search for the next president,” Page said. “On behalf of the university, I wish to thank each of these members for devoting their time and talent during what I believe will be a deliberative and successful search process.”

Tuskegee University has partnered with nationally recognized executive search firm Isaacson, Miller, which will assist the search committee with its work. The firm has conducted executive searches for a diverse group of higher education institutions — from Duke and Dartmouth to Morehouse and Spelman. Monroe “Bud” Moseley will represent the firm as lead consultant. He will be assisted by Lionel Anderson and Joseph Keller.

The search committee’s first meeting will be held on Oct. 20. Page committed to conducting “a thorough and transparent search,” which will include listening sessions with key stakeholders, a comprehensive survey providing all stakeholders with opportunities for input, and a dedicated website with regular updates on the committee’s progress. The search committee expects to establish a timeline that will result in the selection of a successful candidate by summer 2018.

The search committee members are:

  • John Page: search committee chair; chair of the Board of Trustees; and senior corporate vice president, chief corporate social responsibility and chief legal officer of Golden State Foods Corp., Irvine, California
  • Norma Clayton: search committee vice chair; first vice chair of the Board of Trustees; and retired vice president for learning, training and development of The Boeing Company, St. Louis, Missouri
  • Bernard Anderson: university trustee and Whitney M. Young Jr. professor emeritus, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Solomon Banks ’64: chair, Tuskegee University Eminent Presidential Associates; and retired director of housing for the Los Angles Housing Department, Los Angeles, California
  • Kevin Green: university trustee; retired vice admiral, U.S. Navy; and retired IBM vice president, Oak Hill, Virginia
  • Floyd Griffin ’66: secretary of the Board of Trustees; retired U.S. Army colonel; and retired business owner, Milledgeville, Georgia
  • Erick Harris ’09: second vice chair of the Board of Trustees; and associate, Dyer, Coatney & Schroder, Edmond, Oklahoma
  • E. Chris Johnson: university trustee; retired North America vice president and general counsel, GM; and CEO and co-founder, Center for Justice, Rights & Dignity, Novi, Michigan
  • Vanessa Lee: chair, Tuskegee University Staff Senate
  • Virda K. Lester: tenured professor, Tuskegee University College of Education
  • Mortimer Neufville ’70: member, Tuskegee University Board of Advisors; and former president, Coppin State University and University of Maryland-Eastern Shore, Darnestown, Maryland
  • Burt Rowe ’70: president, Tuskegee National Alumni Association, Inc.; and retired chief manufacturing officer and director of global manufacturing strategy and procurement for the wireless division of Alcatel-Lucent, Westerville, Ohio
  • Art Tipton: university trustee; and president and CEO of Southern Research, Birmingham, Alabama
  • Tameka Tremaglio: university trustee; and Greater Washington managing principal and East regional leader, Deloitte Financial Advisory Services; McLean, Virginia
  • Austin Turk ’18: president, Tuskegee University Student Government Association

The position of university president became available upon the conclusion of the previous president’s contract in June 2017. Dr. Charlotte P. Morris, who was appointed to serve as interim president beginning July 1 and until a successor is named, is not seeking to fill the vacancy. For more information about Tuskegee University’s presidential search, visit


© 2017 Tuskegee University