Close this Alert

Close this Alert
ShareThis Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

Tuskegee University Receives National Recognition for Achievements in Student Success

November 10, 2021

Contact: Kawana McGough, Office of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing

Connected 21 Award for Tuskegee University

Tuskegee, AL — The Education Advisory Board EAB has named Tuskegee University the winner of its Student Success Collaborative-Return to Education Award.

EAB’s Student Success Collaborative, Return on Education Award recognizes an institution that has seen significant and measurable results from its efforts to help students persist, graduate, and thrive.   Tuskegee University has seen an average 3% increase in both Retention and Graduation Rates since implementing EAB.

EAB has recognized outstanding achievements in student success for eight years in a row. Awardees are chosen from among the colleges, universities, and individuals that use Navigate, EAB’s student success management system, or Starfish, the student success platform EAB acquired earlier this year.

“Students, faculty, and campus staff are still learning how to access and deliver the right combination of online and in-person support services that are critical to student success,” said AB President of Technology, Scott Schirmeier. “The winners of EAB’s 2021 Student Success Collaborative Awards have gone above and beyond in their mission to keep students on track to graduate at a time when the pandemic has completely upended the traditional student support model.”

Tuskegee University’s Navigate/EAB leadership team is comprised of Dr. Elaine Bromfield, University Registrar; Dr. Jannett Lewis-Clark, Department Head/Assistant Professor Department of Allied Health and Nursing; Dr. Kellei Samuels, Associate Vice President Office of Institutional Effectiveness, Research, Assessment, and Planning SACSCOC Liaison and Edna Woodson, Coordinator of Student Retention and Persistence/ Navigate Liaison.

The following institutions and one individual also were named winners of EAB’s 2021 Student Success Collaborative Awards:

Technology Pioneer Award winners:

  • Metropolitan State University of Denver
  • Sierra College

Return on Education Award winner:

  • Tuskegee University

Collaborative Citizenship Award winners:

  • University of the District of Columbia
  • Northeast Wisconsin Technical College

Visionary Leadership Award winner:

  • Janice Stubbs, Vice Provost for Student Services, Broward College

CONNECTEDness Award winners – the Milwaukee-Kenosha Moon Shot Region, made up of four institutions:

  • Carthage College
  • Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee
  • University of Wisconsin–Parkside

The awards were presented at CONNECTED21, a three-day virtual gathering of thousands of student success leaders from progressive community colleges and four-year colleges and universities this year.

About EAB

At EAB, our mission is to make education smarter and our communities stronger. We work with more than 2,500 institutions to drive transformative change through data-driven insights and best-in-class capabilities. From kindergarten to college to career, EAB partners with leaders and practitioners to accelerate progress and drive results across five major areas: enrollment, student success, institutional strategy, data & analytics, and diversity, equity, and inclusion (DE&I). We work with each partner differently, tailoring our portfolio of research, technology, and marketing and enrollment solutions to meet the unique needs of every leadership team, as well as the students and employees they serve. Learn more at