Page Header

Department of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences (DAES)

General Information

Welcome to the Department of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. The Department of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (DAES) is one of two academic units within the College of Agriculture, Environment and Nutrition Science. The second of which is the Department of Food and Nutritional Sciences. The curricula within this department is designed to prepare students who will ultimately become professionals in areas that include agricultural sciences, veterinary medicine, environmental policy, natural resource management, and rural development at local, regional, and international levels Building relationships and meeting needs have been the goals of the Department of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (DAES) since its inception. This department offers many exciting learning opportunities in and outside of the classroom setting. Lecture and laboratory classes are predominantly held in the newest constructed building on the campus, James Henry Meriwether Henderson Hall Agricultural Life Science Teaching, Extension and Research Building, which is home to state of the art facilities. 

DAES Vision

The College of Agriculture, Environment and Nutrition Science aims to provide students of diverse ethnic, cultural and socioeconomic heritage with the scientific background for the development of professional expertise; the leadership skills needed to participate fully in a rapidly advancing, technological, informational society, the dedication to recognize and contribute to the resolution of real-world problems, and an appreciation and understanding of the humanities and social sciences that will provide a foundation for aesthetic and moral growth as well as a broad perspective from which to view their professional and personal lives. 

DAES Mission

The overall mission of DAES is to develop students with skills in critical and systematic thinking, intellectual curiosity, a desire for life-long learning and to prepare them for leadership and service in the basic and applied agricultural, biological and chemical sciences.