Close this Alert

Close this Alert

Department of Modern Languages, Communication and Philosophy

Mission Statement

Through its commitment to exemplary teaching, research, and service, the Department of Modern Languages, Communication, and Philosophy will provide a well-structured curriculum encompassing core courses in the humanities, social and behavioral sciences, and natural sciences and major courses in advanced composition, literature from diverse traditions, language, and communication. It will explore innovative approaches to teaching and learning, encourage and support professional development, and expand the faculty to reflect trends and developments in the discipline. It will maintain an environment that nurtures intellectual growth and prepares students for lifelong learning.

Vision Statement

The department is dedicated to helping students acquire (1) a broad knowledge of English, American, and world literature; (2) a deep appreciation of literature as an avenue to a more expansive vision of the human condition; and (3) the analytical and communication skills that will enable them to succeed in graduate studies and/or professional responsibilities.

B.A. in English

The department offers the Bachelor of Arts in English and provides its majors with a broad range of introductory and advanced courses, and with independent study and research opportunities, including a senior seminar. The course of study introduces students to important literary texts and the cultural and historical forces that have shaped these works. It allows students to explore the complex intellectual, philosophical, aesthetic, and moral issues reflected in literature, enabling them to develop their verbal and analytical skills and strengthening their understanding of the relationship of literature to other disciplines. The English major provides a well-rounded undergraduate education and serves as an excellent foundation for a number of careers, including teaching, writing, publishing, journalism, business, and law.

B. A. in Communication

The department also offers the Bachelor of Arts in communication, a new program encompassing the study of speaking and writing as well as the exploration of interpersonal, organizational, and intercultural communication, information media, and communication ethics. The program is designed to help students acquire broad knowledge and competencies in communication and the intellectual skills that will enable them to become critically aware and engaged citizens of the world and to succeed in communication-related professions, including business, government, law, entertainment, and mass media.

Contact Information

Dr. Adaku T. Ankumah, Chair
Department of Modern Languages, Communication, and Philosophy
College of Arts and Sciences 
Tuskegee University
Tuskegee, AL 36088

Location: John A. Kenney Hall, Room 70-301
Telephone: (334) 727-8100
Fax: (334) 724-4196