Close this Alert

Close this Alert
Page Header

Chemical Engineering Advisory Board

In order to maintain and nurture a good quality program, two advisory boards were formed, one for the College of Engineering and the second for the Chemical Engineering Department.  Both advisory boards are made up of representatives from alumni, industry and academia.

The chemical engineering advisory board has about 10 members and meets annually.  At least 4-5 members have been present during each meeting.  Faculty and students are invited to these meetings.  The board is presented with a report containing key aspects of the department – mission, objectives, outcomes, survey results, curricula and statistics on student enrollment and performance.  The board actively participates in any changes in curricula and/or programs through the members’ feedback and advice.

Current Chemical Engineering Advisory Board Members

Mrs. Davida D. Smith (President of Advisory Board)

Program Manager Shell Lubricants,

Global Car Care

700 Milam

P.O.Box 4427

Houston, Texas, 77210-4427

Tel.: 713-546-6929


Ms. Tiffany D. Smith

Deloitte Consulting LLP

250 E. Fifth St. Suite 1900

Cincinnati, OH 45202

Direct: 513 723 4137

Fax: 513 362 6453

Mobile: 513 235 5733


Mr. Vincent D. Varner

Senior Product Engineer

3M Abrasives Manufacturing Organization

11900 East 8 Mile Road

Detroit, MI 48205

Tel.: 256-341-5071


Sylvia Williams

Senior Environmental Engineer

Akzo Nobel Functional Chemicals LLC Lemoyne Site

13440 Highway 43 North

Axis, AL, 36505

Tel. 251-679-4315


Ms. Beverly L. Waters

Sr. Project Engineer, Frito-Lay, Inc.

7701 Legacy Drive

Plano, TX. 75024

Tel.: 972-334-4413


Mr. Anthony C. Aiken

President & CEO

Global Environmental Services

1514 East Cleveland Ave. Suite 17

Atlanta, GA 30344

Tel.: 404-684-7172


Mr. James Adams

Alabama Department of Environmental Management

1400 Coliseum Blvd. Montgomery AL 36110-2059

Tel.: 334-271-7961


Mr. Werhner Washington

P & G

Tel.: 410-785-8603