Close this Alert

Close this Alert

Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine graduate public health students honored at annual pinning ceremony

Contact:  Anissa L. Riley, Director, Office of External Affairs,

College of Veterinary Medicine

TUSKEGEE, Ala. (February 11, 2019) – Faculty, staff, family members, friends, and special guests came out to show their support and honor the students in the Master of Public Health (MPH) program on Jan. 28 at the Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine’s Patterson Hall auditorium. Students were presented their official blazer and pin. The blazer serves to acknowledge the completion of the basic requirements for the MPH degree and progress towards the final requirement of thesis/practicum for second year students. It is to only be worn when presenting in professional and community settings. 

The official pin was presented to the students who have completed a minimum of 30 credit hours and received the recommendation from their academic advisor for demonstrating their ability and readiness to enter the public health work force displaying the ideals of the public health profession.

The prestigious Graduate Public Health Program (GPHP) pin was designed by the dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Ruby L. Perry, and program director Attorney Crystal James.  The “Challenge” was given by Dr. Cheryl G. Davis as the keynote speaker.  “I simply gave the roadmap to fulfill the challenge given to these students as they embark on their future careers in the public health profession. Their challenge is to find their pioneering spirit and do their very best with the research, data analysis they critique to help find strategies to address health disparity issues,” Davis said. 

Dr. Davis previously served as the executive director for The Gift of Life Foundation, Inc., and at Tuskegee University, she has served as the former associate dean for Strategic Initiatives and External Affairs in the College of Veterinary Medicine, and as a faculty member in the Department of Allied Health.  

 “The annual pinning ceremony is a celebratory moment for our students in the Master of Public Health (MPH) program because a major academic milestone has been achieved.  These students are our future advocates, educators and leaders in public health,” said Dr. Ruby L. Perry, dean.  

“I also commend the faculty and staff under the leadership of Atty. James, program dept. head, for providing the mentorship needed to get our students ready to begin a very rewarding career in this healthcare discipline that mandates a responsibility to saving lives by spreading awareness, assisting in disease prevention and disease control and building a healthy society,” Perry said. The official blazer was presented to the following students with their major professors attending: Kellon Banks - major professor: Atty. Crystal James; Ashanti Davis - major professor: Dr. Rueben Warren; Ronald Peaster - major professors: Atty. James and Dr. Marcia Martinez; and Denzel Veale - major professor: Dr. Lloyd Webb.

The official pin was presented to the following students also with their major professors attending:  Samina Akhter - major professor: Dr. Webb; Oyoyo Egiebor - major professor: Dr. Webb; Mylo Howard - major professor: Dr. Ehsan Abdalla; and Ronald Peaster - major professor: Atty. James and Dr. Marcia Martinez.

For more information about the graduate public health program, visit

About the Graduate Public Health Program at Tuskegee University

The mission of the Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine’s graduate program in public health is to prepare public health professionals to draw on knowledge and skills of a number of disciplines to define, assess critically, resolve public health problems and promote populations health.  The program of study develops core competencies in multiple areas, including the quantitative sciences, health services administration, biological, social, behavioral and environmental sciences, ethics, health policy and law.

Rear Standing (L to R):  Graduate public health program student honorees:
Denzel Veale, Ashanti-Ali Davis, Kellon Banks, Ronald Peaster, Oyoyo Egiebor, Samina Akhter, and Mylo Howard
Front sitting (L to R): Major professor Dr. Rueben Warren, challenge speaker Dr. Cheryl G. Davis, Dean Ruby L. Perry, and Atty. Crystal James, program director/dept. head.

Crystal James, program director/dept. head., Ronald Peaster

Major professor Dr. Rueben Warren, Denzel Veale
Dean Ruby L. Perry

Dr. Lloyd Webb, Oyoyo Egiebor