Close this Alert

Close this Alert

The Graduate School

The Office is responsible for dissemination of information regarding TU’s graduate programs recruiting graduate students and monitoring their progress, from admission through graduation. The staff of the Graduate School works closely with department heads, graduate program directors, and academic deans of units that offer graduate degrees, as well as the Registrar's Office. TU currently offers sixteen (16) graduate programs at the Master’s level and four (4) at the doctorate level. All of our graduate programs are thesis/dissertation based with the exception of the Master of Science Program in Occupational Therapy. There are a few thesis based Master of Science Programs which also offer non-thesis based degrees. Please visit the links at the bottom of this page to learn the various services available through this office.




Students sitting on steps Students talking

Contact Us

Tuskegee University Graduate School
John A. Kenney Hall, Suite 44-320
1200 W. Montgomery Rd.
Tuskegee, AL 36088
Phone: 334-727-8970
Fax: 334-725-2367

Mission, Goals, and Outcomes


  •          to prepare of the next generation of scholars with skills needed for expanding scientific knowledge and facilitate work globally in their chosen            fields


  •        Maintain 100% compliance with state and federal regulations in involving graduate students in research and other sponsored programs  
  •        Increase the number of graduate students enrolled at TU by 10%, each year  
  •        Enhance the quality of Masters theses and Ph.D. Dissertations   


  •          Number of graduate courses developed based on research findings  
  •          Number of advanced degrees (M.S. and Ph.D.) produced  
  •          Number of Publications produced  
  •          Number of patent applications co-authored by graduate students

Graduate Council

Shaik Jeelani
VP, Research  & Dean, Graduate School

The Graduate School is headed by the Vice President for Research and Dean of Graduate School, who reports to the president of Tuskegee University (TU) through the Provost. The Dean of Graduate School is advised by an eight- member Graduate Council. This council, which functions as the governance unit with responsibility for educational policies at the graduate level, is composed of the Dean of Graduate School as Chairperson, five faculty members, one representing each college (to be appointed by Deans), the chair if the Faculty Senate’s Committee on Research and Graduate School, and two elected graduate students. The graduate council, with input from the graduate faculty, suggests policy changes for implementation to the Faculty Senate. The Faculty Senate forwards its recommendations to the Provost for his/her approval. The Graduate Faculty was established in 1950. This body promotes and maintains the academic and general welfare of the faculty and graduate students. It has jurisdiction over matters of policy, procedures and regulations in graduate instruction and research.  In many departments of instruction, graduate students have organized themselves, and together with the faculty, they meet as needed for professional and/or academic exchanges. Students are encouraged to share their experiences with their peers and with faculty members.

Click here to view the Graduate Council

Graduate Faculty

Graduate Programs



Course Catalog

Graduate Handbook

Centers of Excellence

Additional Information

Tuskegee University began graduate instruction in 1944. The first graduate degree, Master of Science, was awarded May 19, 1947 in Agriculture, Education and Home Economics.  By 1962, graduate work had been organized into a comprehensive unit for administration and coordination under a Dean of Graduate Programs. Throughout the years, the Dean has served jointly in other administrative capacities and currently also serves as Vice President for Research.