Tuskegee University Research Council 

The Research Council function as the advisory body with responsibility for recommending policies to increase extramural funds. For funding opportunities in which only a limited number of proposal submissions is allowed, an additional pre-submission process will be led by the Vice President for Research and Sponsored Programs, in collaboration with the Director, OSP, to ensure that only the requisite number of proposals are submitted.

Members Area
Shaik Jeelani, Chair Research & Graduate Studies
Felecia M. Grant, Secretary Research & Graduate Studies 
Conrad Bonsi College of Agricutural, Environment & Nutrion Sciences
Gwendolyn Gray School of Nursing & Allied Health
Danette Hall Office of Sponsored Programs
Henry Findlay School of Education
Mahesh Hosur College of Engineering
Vijay Rangari Biosafety Committee
Ayman Sayegh College of Vetrinary Medicine
Joel Wao Architecture & Construction Science
Fan Wu College of Business and Information Science
Clayton Yates College of Arts and Sciences

Responsibilities of the Research Council: 

• Make recommendations concerning the direction of research at TU
• Ensure that application’ requiring major initial investments and post-award recurrent expenses have written certification with specific measures for institutionalization if a requisite of the program
• Ensure that the overhead (indirect) cost allowed by the funding agency is weighted against benefits sought by proposing PI/unit
•  Evaluate and recommend mitigation of infrastructure deficiencies needed by proposed research initiative or development
• Review and evaluation of grants proposals for inter-unit inclusiveness wherever appropriate ensuring representation of STEM and STEAM activities 
• Review the scope and operation of Centers of Excellence and make recommendations for their growth or cancellation
•  Review and selection of proposals, when there is a restriction on the number of proposal TU is allowed to submit
•  Designate “red Teams” to review proposals from junior faculty and guide them in developing competitive proposals
• Assist the VPR in answering Relevant Questions concerning Research for SACSCOC accreditation
• Assist the VPR in planning and holding the Annual Research Forum.