Close this Alert

Close this Alert
Page Header

Tuskegee University Staff Senate 

PURPOSE

The purpose of the Staff Senate is to serve as the legislative body to develop and recommend policies to the University staff not covered by labor union contracts. During intervals between meetings of the staff as a whole, it shall have jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to staff affairs and policies of the University. The University Staff Senate has a major role in the formulation of legislation falling within the following areas:

  • To assist in the communication of issues and activities affecting staff members.
  • Actively promoting and facilitating staff participation in the University community.
  • Developing and recommending policies governing appointments, status and promoting of staff, working conditions, and fringe benefits.
  • Reviewing periodically the effectiveness of the total staff personnel program.

BECOMING A MEMBER

To become a member, persons must meet the following criteria listed below. 

  • Be a full-time and active staff employee
  • Employed at institution for at least 6 months
  • Attend monthly meetings


MEETINGS

Staff Senate meetings occur on the third Thursday of every month at 3:00pm. Meetings are currently held virtually due to governemtal and institutional COVID-19 guidelines. For more infomation on meeting dates and minutes, please click here
   

SENATORS

Preston Robinson III, Ph.D
Staff Senate Chair
Director, Institutional Research
Office of Institutional Effectiveness
334.724.4873
probinson@tuskegee.edu

Vanessa Lee
Staff Senate Vice-Chair
Executive Secretary to the Dean
College of Engineering
334.727.8723
vlee@tuskegee.edu
LaTesha Howard
Staff Senate Secretary
Sales Representative
Kellogg Conference Center
334.727.3000
lhoward@tuskegee.edu
Sonsauhray Price
Staff Senate Assistant Secretary
Academic Computing Coordinator
Office of Information Technology
334.724.4706
soprice@tuskegee.edu
Elizabeth Whetstone
Staff Senate Treasurer
Financial Analyst
College of Agriculture, Environmental and Nutrition Sciences
334.724.8020
ewhetstone@tuskegee.edu
Nicholas Brown
Staff Senate Assistant Treasurer
Academic Advisor and Equipment Assistant
Department of Athletics 
334.727.8852
nbrown@tuskegee.edu
Earl Smart
Staff Senate Parliamentarian
Security Officer
Office of Public Safety
334.727.8757
esmart@tuskegee.edu
Frederick Johnson
Staff Senate Assistant Parliamentarian
Maintenance Engineer
College of Veterinary Medicine
334.421.1885
fjohnson@tuskegee.edu
Christine Bradshaw
Office Manager
Office of the Provost
334.727.8029
cbradshaw@tuskegee.edu
Kymberly Holland
Coordinator of Alumni Affairs and Reunion Programs
Office of Development and Advancement
334.727.8521
kholland@tuskegee.edu
Reginald Howell
Audio Visual Technician
Office of Information Technology
334.724.4444
howellr@tuskegee.edu
Lennora Muti'ah Pierrot
Manager Special Collections
Ford Motor Company Library
334.727.8890
lpierrot@tuskegee.edu

Carmalita Pollard
Office Manager
Department of Agriculture and Environmental Science
334.727.8652
cpollard1@tuskegee.edu

Savitri Reed
Residence Hall Director/Counselor
Office of Housing and Residential Life
334.727.8935
sreed@tuskegee.edu
  Cassandra Tarver-Ross
Staff Senate Ex-Officio
Chief Human Resources Officer
Office of Human Resources Management
334.727.8510
ctarverross@tuskegee.edu

UNIVERSITY STAFF RESOURCES

STAFF SENATE RESOURCES

COMMITTEES

The Standing Committees of the Senate are:

a. Executive Committee


The committee shall consist of the President of the University, or in his absence a person named by the President, or, in his absence a person named by the President; the officers of the Senate, and the chairmen of the standing committees of the Senate. The presiding officer shall be the Chairmen of the Senate.

It shall prepare the agenda for the Senate meetings; assign or refer the business of the Senate to appropriate committees for consideration and report; recommend abolition, alternation or creation of abolition, alteration or creation of Senate committees and generally expedite all work of the Senate. It shall prepare an operating budget for the Senate,  which shall be forwarded to the administration.

b. Staff Personnel Committee

This committee shall concern itself primarily with  policy matters and guidelines for administrative implementation pertaining to: appointments, status and promotion of staff,  working conditions, and fringe benefits. Member shall include the Vice President for Business and Fiscal Affairs.

c. Personnel Development Committee

This committee shall concern itself primarily with policy matters and guidelines relating to workshops, short courses, institutes, and other activities designed to upgrade of performance of members of the staff.

d. Newsletter Committee

This committee shall concern itself primarily with the development  of a newsletter. The newsletter should provide information about personnel currently employed at the University.

Contact the Staff Senate

Dr. Preston Robinson III, Chair
Phone: 334-724-4873
probinson@tuskegee.edu