Close this Alert

Close this Alert
Page Header

Tuskegee University Staff Senate 

PURPOSE

The purpose of the Staff Senate is to serve as the legislative body to develop and recommend policies to the University staff not covered by labor union contracts. During intervals between meetings of the staff as a whole, it shall have jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to staff affairs and policies of the University. The University Staff Senate has a major role in the formulation of legislation falling within the following areas:

  • To assist in the communication of issues and activities affecting staff members.
  • Actively promoting and facilitating staff participation in the University community.
  • Developing and recommending policies governing appointments, status and promoting of staff, working conditions, and fringe benefits.
  • Reviewing periodically the effectiveness of the total staff personnel program.

BECOMING A MEMBER

To become a member, persons must meet the following criteria listed below. 

  • Be a full-time and active staff employee
  • Employed at institution for at least 6 months
  • Attend monthly meetings


MEETINGS

Staff Senate meetings occur on the third Thursday of every month at 3:00pm. Meetings are currently held virtually due to governemtal and institutional COVID-19 guidelines. For more infomation on meeting dates and minutes, please click here

VIRTUAL MEETING LOGIN 

Click here to log into monthly virtual meetings. 

---

VOTING

Click the button below to cast your vote. Voting for the 2022-23 academic year begins June 27 - 30, 2022. 

---

SENATORS

Preston Robinson III, Ph.D.
Staff Senate Chair
Director, Institutional Research
Office of Institutional Effectiveness
334.724.4873
PRobinson@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2023

Cassandra Cooper
Staff Senate Vice-Chair
University Webmaster
Office of Marketing & Communications
334.727.8723
CCooper@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2025

Courtney Griffin, Ph.D.
Staff Senate Secretary
Director, Admissions
Office of Admissions & Enrollment Management
334.727.8500
CGriffin@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2025

Kymberly Holland
Staff Senate Treasurer
Coordinator, Alumni Affairs & Reunion Programs
Office of Alumni Affairs
334.724.8881
KHolland@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2024

Dawn Calhoun
Staff Senate Communications Officer
Administrative Assistant
Department of History and Political Science
334.727.8541
DCalhoun@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2025

Savitri Reed
Staff Senate Parliamentarian 
Resident Hall Director
Office of Housing & Residential Life 
334.727.8935
SReed@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2024

Odessa Agalaba
Library Assistant
Ford Motor Company Library
334.724.4688
OAgalaba@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2025

Nick Brown
Academic Advisor and Equipment Manager
Office of Athletics 
334.727-8852
NBrown@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2023

Reginald Howell
Audio Visual Technician
Office of Information Technology
334.724.4444
HowellR@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2024

Frederick Johnson
Maintenance Engineer
College of Veterinary Medicine 
334.727.8699
FJohnson@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2023

Vanessa Lee
Executive Secretary to the Dean
College of Engineering
334.724.8723
VLee@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2024

Lennora Muti'ah Pierrot
Manager Special Collections
Ford Motor Company Library
334.727.8890
LPierrot@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2024

Carmalita Pollard
Office Manager
Department of Agriculture and Environmental Science
334.727.8652
CPollard1@tuskegee.edu

TERM ENDS: June 30, 2024

Charlotte P. Morris, Ph.D.
Staff Senate Ex-Officio
President
Office of the Presdient
334.727.8501
President@tuskegee.edu
 

S. Keith Hargrove, Ph.D., MBA
Staff Senate Ex-Officio
Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Office of the Provost
334.727.8164
SKHargrove@tuskegee.edu
Dexter Odom
Staff Senate Ex-Officio
Chief Financial Officer 
Office of the Chief Financial Officer
334.727.8855
DOdom@tuskegee.edu
Cassandra Tarver-Ross
Staff Senate Ex-Officio
Chief Human Resources Officer
Office of Human Resources Management
334.727.8510
CTarverRoss@Tuskegee.edu

UNIVERSITY STAFF RESOURCES

STAFF SENATE RESOURCES

COMMITTEES

The Standing Committees of the Senate are:

a. Executive Committee


The committee shall consist of the President of the University, or in his absence a person named by the President, or, in his absence a person named by the President; the officers of the Senate, and the chairmen of the standing committees of the Senate. The presiding officer shall be the Chairmen of the Senate.

It shall prepare the agenda for the Senate meetings; assign or refer the business of the Senate to appropriate committees for consideration and report; recommend abolition, alternation or creation of abolition, alteration or creation of Senate committees and generally expedite all work of the Senate. It shall prepare an operating budget for the Senate,  which shall be forwarded to the administration.

b. Staff Personnel Committee

This committee shall concern itself primarily with  policy matters and guidelines for administrative implementation pertaining to: appointments, status and promotion of staff,  working conditions, and fringe benefits. Member shall include the Vice President for Business and Fiscal Affairs.

c. Personal Development Committee

This committee shall concern itself primarily with policy matters and guidelines relating to workshops, short courses, institutes, and other activities designed to upgrade of performance of members of the staff.

d. Newsletter Committee

This committee shall concern itself primarily with the development  of a newsletter. The newsletter should provide information about personnel currently employed at the University.

Contact the Staff Senate

Dr. Preston Robinson III, Chair
Phone: 334-724-4873
probinson@tuskegee.edu