Close this Alert

Close this Alert
Page Header

Tuskegee University Staff Senate 


The purpose of the Staff Senate is to serve as the legislative body to develop and recommend policies to the University staff not covered by labor union contracts. During intervals between meetings of the staff as a whole, it shall have jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to staff affairs and policies of the University. The University Staff Senate has a major role in the formulation of legislation falling within the following areas:

  • Adjudicating staff matters
  • Developing and recommending policies governing appointments, status and promoting of staff, working conditions, and fringe benefits
  • Reviewing periodically the effectiveness of the total staff personnel program
  • To assist in the communication of issues and activities affecting staff members
  • Actively promoting and facilitating staff participation in the University community.

Becoming A Member

To become a member, persons must meet the following criteria listed below. 

  • Be a full-time staff employee
  • Employed at institution for at least 6 months

Meeting Time

The Staff Senate meets on the third Thursday of every month at 3:00pm. Meetings are held virtually due to governemtal and institutional COVID-19 guidelines. 


2020 - 2021 Tuskegee University Staff Senate Officers/Members:

  • Dr. Preston Robinson III, Chair
  • Vice Chair (VACANT)
  • Elizabeth Whetstone, Secretary
  • Assistant Secretary (VACANT)
  • Natasha Staples, Treasurer
  • Nicholas Brown, Assistant Treasurer
  • Earl Smart, Parliamentarian
  • Fred Johnson, Assistant Parliamentarian
  • Naquitha Bowen
  • Christine Bradshaw
  • Kheri Howard
  • LaTesha Howard
  • Sonsauhray Price
  • (VACANT)
  • (VACANT)
  • HR Director, Ex-Officio



The Standing Committees of the Senate are:

a. Executive Committee

The committee shall consist of the President of the University, or in his absence a person named by the President, or, in his absence a person named by the President; the officers of the Senate, and the chairmen of the standing committees of the Senate. The presiding officer shall be the Chairmen of the Senate.

It shall prepare the agenda for the Senate meetings; assign or refer the business of the Senate to appropriate committees for consideration and report; recommend abolition, alternation or creation of abolition, alteration or creation of Senate committees and generally expedite all work of the Senate. It shall prepare an operating budget for the Senate,  which shall be forwarded to the administration.

b. Staff Personnel Committee

This committee shall concern itself primarily with  policy matters and guidelines for administrative implementation pertaining to: appointments, status and promotion of staff,  working conditions, and fringe benefits. Member shall include the Vice President for Business and Fiscal Affairs.

c. Personnel Development Committee

This committee shall concern itself primarily with policy matters and guidelines relating to workshops, short courses, institutes, and other activities designed to upgrade of performance of members of the staff.

d. Newsletter Committee

This committee shall concern itself primarily with the development  of a newsletter. The newsletter should provide information about personnel currently employed at the University.

Contact the Staff Senate

Dr. Preston Robinson III, Chair
Phone: 334-724-4873